Physical Therapy

Related Guides

Health and Medicine

Welcome

Welcome to the Erickson Library's Physical Therapy subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.

The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!

Practice Tests

Learning Express Library offers study guides and free practice tests for the Physical Therapist Assistant Exam Do a search for PTA or Physical Therapy to find resources.

Learning Express Library
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Core Skills), workplace skills (Career Preparation) college readiness skills (College Students), and computer skills (Computer Skills). Includes many practice tests for college and graduate school entrance as well as career, workplace, and preparation for entrance exams including Medical Assistant, PTA, Rad Tech, Surg Tech, Preparation for the NCLEX-PN, NCLEX-RN, Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide Certification, Electrician Licensing, CDL Exams, EMT Certification, and Firefighter Exams. Navigating Learning Express Tutorial.

Erickson Library Hours and Contact Information

Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-5:00pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Physical Therapy Books

ACSM's guidelines for exercise testing and prescription (MAIN RC684.E9 A37 2022)

Book Jacket

Aston postural assessment: A new paradigm for observing and evaluating body patterns (Available online)

Daniels and Worthingham's Muscle Testing: Techniques of Manual Muscle and Physical Performance Testing

Daniels and Worthingham's muscle testing: Techniques of manual examination and performance testing (Course Reserves)

Documentation Basics for the Physical Therapist Assistant book cover

Documentation basics for the physical therapist assistant (In process)

Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation - 4th Edition

Essentials of physical medicine and rehabilitation: musculoskeletal disorders, pain, and rehabilitation (MAIN RM700 .E84 2019)

Ethics in physical therapy: a case-based approach (MAIN R725.5 .K57 2018)

Book Jacket

Freedom to move: movement therapy for spinal pain and injuries (Available online)

Goodman and Fuller's pathology for the physical therapist assistant (Course Reserves)

Goodman and Marshall's recognizing and reporting red flags for the physical therapist assistant (Course Reserves)

Book Jacket

Integrative rehabilitation practice: The foundations of whole-person care for health professionals (Available online)

Measurement of Joint Motion: A Guide to Goniometry [Book]

Measurement of joint motion: A guide to gonimetry (Course Reserves)

Mobility in context: Principles of patient care skills (Course Reserves)

Book Jacket

Mobilizing the myofascial system: a clinical guide to assessment and treatment of myofascial dysfunctions (Available online)

Motor imagery: emerging practices, role in physical therapy and clinical implications (Available online)

Neurologic Interventions for Physical Therapy: Suzanne Tink Martin, Mary Kessler MHS PT: Amazon.com: Books

Neurologic interventions for physical therapy (Course Reserves)

O'Sullivan & Schmitz's Physical Rehabilitation: 9781719646918: Medicine & Health Science Books @ Amazon.com

O'Sullivan & Schmitz's physical rehabilitation (Course Reserves)

Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy: From Art to Evidence [Book]

Orthopaedic manual physical therapy: From art to evidence (Course Reserves)

Book Jacket

Outline of clinical decision making for physiotherapists (Available online)

Physical agents in rehabilitation: An evidence-based approach to practice (Course Reserves)

Principles of Therapeutic Exercise for the Physical Therapist Assistant (Core Texts for PTA Education)

Principles of therapeutic exercise for the physical therapist assistant (Course Reserves)

Professionalism in the Practice of Physical Therapy [Book]

Professionalism in the practice of physical therapy (Course Reserves)

Resistance training: principles, adaptations and health effects (Available online)

Role of the physical therapist assistant (Course Reserves)

Therapeutic Agents for the Physical Therapist Assistant (Core Texts for PTA Education)

Therapeutic agents for the physical therapist assistant (Course Reserves)

Therapeutic exercise: Foundations and techniques (Course Reserves)

Book Jacket

Transformative physical rehabilitation: thriving after a major health event (Available online)

Search the Online Catalog

More Options

Exam Preparation

National physical therapy examination and board review (INSTRUCTIONAL MEDIA RM701.6 .B87 2019)

Physical therapist assistant exam (Available online, create an Account with Learning Express Library to access practice exams and eBook)

Intedisciplinary Resources

Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy By Lynn S. Lippert

Clinical kinesiology and anatomy (Main QP303 .L57 2023)

Book Jacket

Health communication for health care professionals: an applied approach (Available online)

Book Jacket

Integrated health care for people with autism spectrum disorder (Available online)

Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professions

Legal and ethical issues for the health professions (Main KF3821 .L42 2024)

Book Jacket

LGBTQ cultures: what health care professionals need to know about sexual and gender diversity (MAIN RA564.9.H65 L43 2018) and online

Book Jacket

Muscle testing: a concise manual (Available online)

Muskuloskeletal Pain - Assessment, Prediction and Treatment: A Pragmatic Approach: 9781912085507: Medicine & Health Science Books @ Amazon.com

Muskuloskeletal Pain - Assessment, Prediction and Treatment: A Pragmatic Approach: 9781912085507: Medicine & Health Science Books @ Amazon.com

Musculoskeletal pain - assessment, prediction and treatment (Available online)

Netter atlas of human anatomy: a systems approach (MAIN QM25 .N46 2023)

Book Jacket

The thorax: an integrated approach (Available online)

Research Databases

Academic Search Premier
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Watch the Ebscohost Tutorial.
Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It has full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, it is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
EBSCO MegaFILE
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News.
Films on Demand
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content. Video tutorial
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information which includes drug information in lay language for consumers.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service which indexes over 5,000 medical, dental, nursing and allied health journals.

Journals

APTA Magazine

BMC Sports Science, Medicine and Rehabilitation

BMJ Open Sport & Exercise Medicine

GeriNotes

International Journal of Sports Physical Therapy

Journal of Aquatic Physical Therapy

Journal of Manual & Manipulative Therapy (12 month delay)

Journal of Physical Therapy Science

Journal of Rehabilitation Medicine

Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Practice

Physical Therapy

Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Journal

Physical Therapy in Sport

Rheumatology and Therapy

Sports Medicine and Health Science

Browse Journal Titles

Keyword Search Tips

1. Break down your topic into smaller concepts and identify synonyms
2. Use and to combine keywords
3. Use or to expand your results
4. Use "quotation marks" to search keywords as a phrase
5. Use an asterisk* to search multiple endings

Informational Websites

Physiotherapy Evidence Database
A free database of over 60,000 trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

PubMed Tutorials
Access brief animated tutorials and printable instructions for using PubMed.

Career Outlook

CareerOneStop

CareerWise

O*NET

Occupational Outlook Handbook

What is an OER?

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org