Research Guide for

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Bayer)

Main

Find Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.

JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.

ProQuest News & Newspapers

News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.



Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.

 

Find Books

Find Literature & Lyrics

LitFinder (Gale Literature)

Also included in Gale Literature. Selected literary texts: poems, plays, short stories, and novels; some literary criticism.



Gale Literature
Searches all Gale literature databases at once: Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

 

Genius.com
This website has the largest collection of song lyrics. Lyrics can be annoted by anyone, so the quality of annotations (comments) vary, but the lyrics themselves are generally accurate.

Research Reminders

  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases to find all the information you need.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, look for new keywords to try.

Choosing and Using Keywords


 

Ask a Librarian

Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email


 
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Our Databases from Anywhere

Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.