ENGC 1101 College Writing (Wardell)

Business Insights (Gale)

Company histories, SWOT analyses, and financial reports. Industry profiles and market share reports.

Business E-book Collection (Gale)
Selected ebooks on business topics from Gale.
 

ProQuest News & Newspapers

News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.


Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.



JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.

  Keyword Worksheet   

  Keyword Worksheet   
 

1. Go to http://bit.ly/NormandaleNYTimes.
2. Click Create Account.
3. Fill out account form. Use your Normandale email address. Uncheck the box to opt out of marketing emails.
4. Click sign up.
5. Your access is good for one year from date of sign up. (At the end of the year, re-visit the link above, click the Log in here >> link for people who already have an account, login, and request another annual pass.)
6. Click Go to NYTimes.com. You are automatically signed in.
7. To sign in on other computers, go to NYTimes.com and click the login button in the upper right of the screen. Log in with your Normandale email address and password you set when registering.
8. If you want, download the New York Times app from the iTunes or Google store and login with your email address and password for access on your mobile device.

Note: Subscription does not include access to the crossword puzzle app, Times Insider, or e-reader editions. NYTimes.com provides only select access to The New York Times Archive and does not replace our library database coverage.
 

From Purdue Owl:
Who is the author? Credible sources are written by authors respected in their fields of study. Responsible, credible authors will cite their sources so that you can check the accuracy of and support for what they've written. (This is also a good way to find more sources for your own research.)

You are looking for:

• What the author is known for
• What others say about the author
• What are the author education and employment credential

Then also do a Google search of the author's name. Look for results from:

• Newspaper (news site) Biographies
• Other employment (Research Firms)
• LinkedIn
• Wikipedia
• College or University Biography pages
• Social Media pages which may have a biography or link to a biography in them
• Personal Websites
• Responses to what the author has written

 

Articles:
 
Group 1:
Rico Moore
Welcoming Relatives Home: Bringing Back the Bighorn
https://www.yesmagazine.org/environment/2023/12/13/washington-sheep-restoration-tribal
 
 
Group 2:
Anita Hofschneider
Wildfires are Killing Decades of US Clean Air Improvements
https://www.motherjones.com/politics/2023/09/air-quality-wildfire-smoke-nature-study/

 
 
Group 3:
Nancy S. Jecker and Andrew Ko
Several Companies are Testing Brain Implants- Why is There so Much Attention Swirling Around Neuraling? Two Professors Unpack the Ethical Issues
https://theconversation.com/several-companies-are-testing-brain-implants-why-is-there-so-much-attention-swirling-around-neuralink-two-professors-unpack-the-ethical-issues-222556


 
Group 4:
Ryan Young and Kent Lassman
Trade Agreements Need to Be Less Ambitious
https://www.nationalreview.com/2024/02/trade-agreements-need-to-be-less-ambitious/


Group 5:
C. Jarrett Dieterle
A Flexible Worker Agenda
https://www.nationalaffairs.com/publications/detail/a-flexible-worker-agenda