HIST 1102 History of World Civilizations 2 (Sharpe)

Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica)
​Online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica with brief overviews of most topics.


Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Daily Life through History
Information on the daily lives of peoples throughout history from prehistory to the present. Includes overview articles and primary sources like maps, images, and documents. 

Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.


Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
 

To find secondary sources, search for your topic in the following article databases. 

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.


JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor.


Project MUSE
Journal articles and books on literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
 

African American History
500 years of African-American history.

Artstor
Images from museums and archives covering the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Note: To download images, first register for a free Artstor account.

Daily Life through History
Information on the daily lives of peoples throughout history from prehistory to the present. Includes overview articles and primary sources like maps, images, and documents.   Primary Sources are found by using the options under the Filter+ option.

Modern World History
World history topics from the mid-15th century to the present. Contains chapters from history books, images, videos, timelines, and some primary sources.    Click on Primary Sources in the box on the right.

New York Times - Historical Access (ProQuest)
New York Times newspaper articles from 1851 - 4 years ago.

Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.  Primary Sources can be found under the Defining Documents sections.

Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Provides access to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

British Library Online Collection
Includes a wide variety of primary sources, including maps, books, and photographs.

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
Primary source material from 22 countries. Sites are sorted by country and listed chronologically. Available sources include letters, facsimilies of paintings and photographs, journals, and official documents.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.

Inquisition Collections: Hesburgh Libraries of Notre Dame
Several hundred items, from printed volumes to unique manuscripts and images, on the general theme of inquisition.

Library of Congress
Provides access to many primary sources from American history, including maps, historic newspapers, manuscripts, and photographs.

World Digital Library
WDL makes available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.