Issues & Controversies in History
Overviews of controversies in American and world history.
Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Overviews of controversies in American and world history.
Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more. Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects. Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more. JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor. Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start. Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.
Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
The American Revolution : writings from the War of Independence
This is a collection of writings from the American Revolution. It includes first-hand accounts (primary resources) from letters and diaries as well as newspaper accounts and more.
The Spirit of 'Seventy-Six
This book includes many primary resources, including first hand accounts and documents such as the Declaration of Rights.
One woman, one vote : rediscovering the woman suffrage movement
This is a collection of writings from the American Revolution. It includes first-hand accounts (primary resources) from letters and diaries as well as newspaper accounts and more.
The Spirit of 'Seventy-Six
This book includes many primary resources, including first hand accounts and documents such as the Declaration of Rights.
One woman, one vote : rediscovering the woman suffrage movement
Digital Public Library of America - Primary Source Sets
Selected primary source materials organized by topic. From notable archives, museums, and libraries across the country.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.
Digital Library on American Slavery The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color. Designed as a tool for scholars, historians, teachers, students, genealogists, and interested citizens, the site provides access to information gathered and analyzed over an eighteen-year period from petitions to southern legislatures and country courts filed between 1775 and 1867 in the fifteen slaveholding states in the United States and the District of Columbia.
Massachusetts Historical Society
The Massachusetts Historical Society features many primary resources including pictures, diaries, and political documents.
New York Public Library Digital Library Collection
A collection of photographs, manuscripts, letters, books, posters, maps, and other primary sources.
Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
Daily Life through History
Information on the daily lives of peoples throughout history from prehistory to the present. Includes overview articles and primary sources like maps, images, and documents.
American Indian History (Infobase)
American Indian history and cultures from first contact with colonizers to the present. Includes topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, some primary sources, and a tribe index.
American History (Infobase)
American political, military, social, and cultural history including daily life in America. Includes topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, and some primary sources.
Issues & Controversies in History
Overviews of controversies in American and world history.
African American History
500 years of African-American history.
New York Times - Historical Access (ProQuest)
New York Times newspaper articles from 1851 - 4 years ago.
Minnesota Historical Society: Collections Online
A searchable database of photographs, art and posters covering Minnesota history.
Selected primary source materials organized by topic. From notable archives, museums, and libraries across the country.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.
Digital Library on American Slavery The Digital Library offers a searchable database of detailed personal information about slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color. Designed as a tool for scholars, historians, teachers, students, genealogists, and interested citizens, the site provides access to information gathered and analyzed over an eighteen-year period from petitions to southern legislatures and country courts filed between 1775 and 1867 in the fifteen slaveholding states in the United States and the District of Columbia.
Massachusetts Historical Society
The Massachusetts Historical Society features many primary resources including pictures, diaries, and political documents.
New York Public Library Digital Library Collection
A collection of photographs, manuscripts, letters, books, posters, maps, and other primary sources.
Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more. Daily Life through History
Information on the daily lives of peoples throughout history from prehistory to the present. Includes overview articles and primary sources like maps, images, and documents. American Indian History (Infobase)
American Indian history and cultures from first contact with colonizers to the present. Includes topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, some primary sources, and a tribe index.
American History (Infobase)
American political, military, social, and cultural history including daily life in America. Includes topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, and some primary sources.
Issues & Controversies in History
Overviews of controversies in American and world history.
African American History
500 years of African-American history.
New York Times - Historical Access (ProQuest)
New York Times newspaper articles from 1851 - 4 years ago.
Minnesota Historical Society: Collections Online
A searchable database of photographs, art and posters covering Minnesota history.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
David Vrieze DanielsReference and Instruction Librarian
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Chicago Quick Guide
Official guides to the two formats of Chicago Style. Use ONE of the following formats:
Chicago Manual of Style Guide (OWL Purdue)
A guide to the Chicago citation style, based on the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition).
Official guides to the two formats of Chicago Style. Use ONE of the following formats:
- Notes and Bibliography format guide
- Author-Date format guide
Chicago Manual of Style Guide (OWL Purdue)
A guide to the Chicago citation style, based on the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition).