A to Z the World Country reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.
Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica) Online version of the complete Encyclopædia Britannica providing coverage of most subjects. Also provides access to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Credo Reference Credo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Daily Life through History Daily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more.
Gale eBooks Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Find Secondary Sources
To find secondary sources, search for your topic in the following article databases.
Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Academic OneFile (Gale) Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.
JSTOR JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.
Project MUSE Provides full text articles from journals that cover literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
Find Primary Sources Using Library Databases
Artstor Artstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Daily Life through History Daily Life Online is a database providing information on the daily lives of people around the world. The content includes books, articles, images, maps, primary documents, and more. Primary Sources are found by using the options under the Filter+ option.
Ethnic NewsWatch Ethnic News Watch provides full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Salem History Salem History is an online database of full-text reference e-books and primary sources on American history and world history. Primary Sources can be found under the Defining Documents sections.
Minnesota Reflections Minnesota Reflections, a product of the Minnesota Digital Library, contains more than 80,000 Images/library, maps, and documents from more than 125 of the state's cultural heritage organizations, offering resources on Minnesota history and geography.
World Digital Library
WDL makes available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Scholarly and Popular Sources (Carnegie Vincent Library)
Developing Keywords for your Research (Monroe CC Library)
Ask a Librarian
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
Libby Merrill Reference and Instruction Librarian firstname.lastname@example.org
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Access Databases from Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency A = Author P = Publication P = Point of View S = Sources