Research Guide for

POLS 1152 Model United Nations (Klages)

Foreign Affairs Information

Country Information

Country Background Information & Statistics

screenshot of country watch website menu CountryWatch Country Reviews
CLICK ON COUNTRY REVIEWS, then select country from dropdown menu. 
These country profiles include descriptions of political economic climate, human rights, and environmental issues.
Note the helpful "Foreign Relations" section of each Country Review.

CIA World Factbook
Public versions of country profiles written by the Central Intelligence Agency of the United States.

UN Data
Search all the UN's statistical databases at once (e.g. population, health, crime, environment, labor, etc.).
News Sources

News from the UN

UN News Centre
The official news service of the UN; the site includes articles, radio and TV coverage, and press releases.

The Economist Magazine

The Economist

A weekly magazine covering international politics, economics, and business news. This link accesses The Economist through Academic OneFile.

How to Search: ​Enter a country name and/or topic in the "Search Within Publication" box to find articles mentioning those words.

screenshot of Economist search interface

 
News Media in Your Countries
A to Z the World
Select a country then click on "Media Outlets" to view links to newspapers in that country. This website contains other background information on many countries (not all countries are listed).
UN Documents Research

Find Official Topic Terms

Use the UN Thesaurus to find official vocabularly for agenda and resolution topics. 

Find Documentation by Agenda Topic

Index to Proceedings (Major UN Documentation and Action by Year)
These PDF files link to resolutions, reports, and meeting records with a given year.

Find Resolutions, Votes, and More

UN Digital Library
UN Digital Library Search: Search for words in document titles or agenda items to find resolutions, voting records, and other documents. Search Tips >
Search Tips
  • Use the UN Thesaurus (above) first to find the proper topic terms to use when searching
  • Authors are usually countries
  • 1st Committee is the Disarmament and International Security Committee 
  • 2nd Committee is the Economic and Financial Committee
  • 3rd Committee is the Social, Humanitarian, and Cultural Committee 
  • 4th Committee is the Special Political and Decolonization Committee 
  • 5th Committee is the Administrative and Budgetary Committee 
  • 6th Committee is the Legal Committee 

Find Speeches (Meeting Records)

UN Digital Library (Speeches Search)

Speeches Search: Find speeches (meeting records) made to the General Assembly, the Security Council, and the Economic and Social Council.

Speeches can be searched by topic, name of speaker, and country.  Document Symbol Info >

Document Info
  • UN Doc. Symbol PV means the meeting record is verbatim.
  • UN Doc. Symbol SR means the meeting record is a summary of what was said.

See also: Video of Most Recent General Debate

Find Treaties

UN Treaty Collection

Search current and historical treaties and agreements, including the texts of reservations, declarations, and objections; search by participant country. 

See Also: Glossary of Treaty Action Action Terms
Video courtesy of North Carolina State University Library.
Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

Lacey Mamak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
 

Access Databases from Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
United Nations Handbook
This e-book and mobile app contains information about UN organizations, subsidiaries, and programs. Includes a handy acronym chart and list of regional groups.
Formats available: PDF ebookiPhone app, Android app.
Writing Resolutions
Remember to follow the conference resolution requirements!

AMUNC Resolution Information
 

Sample Preambulatory Phrases
Affirming Guided by
Alarmed by Having adopted
Approving Having considered
Aware of  Having considered further
Bearing in Mind Having devoted attention
Believing Having examined
Confident Having heard
Contemplating Having received
Convinced Having studied
Declaring Keeping in mind
Deeply concerned Noting with regret
Deeply conscious Noting with deep concern
Deeply convinced Noting with satisfaction
Deeply disturbed Noting further
Deeply regretting Noting with approval
Desiring Observing
Emphasizing Reaffirming
Expecting Realizing
Expressing its appreciation Recalling
Expressing its satisfaction Recognizing
Fulfilling Referring
Fully alarmed Seeking
Fully aware Taking into account
Fully believing Taking into consideration
Further deploring Taking note
Further recalling Welcoming
 

Sample Operative Phrases
Accepts Further proclaims
Affirms Further recommends
Approves Further reminds
Authorizes Further requests
Calls Further resolves
Calls upon  Has resolved
Condemns Notes
Confirms Proclaims
Congratulates Reaffirms
Considers Recommends
Declares accordingly Regrets
Deplores Reminds
Designates Solemnly affirms
Draws the attention Strongly condemns
Emphasizes Supports
Encourages Takes note of
Endorses Transmits
Expresses its appreciation Trusts
Expresses its hope  
Further invites  
Cite Your Sources

Cite Non-UN Documents

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

Cite UN Documents

UN Citation Quick Guide pdf 

About URLs to UN Documents

Many URLs for UN official documents will not work permanently. To make a stable link, use this URL format: https://undocs.org/DOCUMENTSYMBOL. For example, the stable link to Resolution A/RES/67/97 would be https://undocs.org/A/RES/67/97.