Welcome to the Erickson Library's Medical Assisting subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.
A few keywords to try: Healthcare occupations, Physician assistant, Medical laboratory
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
A few keywords to try: Healthcare occupations, Physician assistant, Medical laboratory
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
- Credo Reference
Search over 3 million full text entries in 1,200 electronic reference books! Watch How to Run a Basic Search on Credo.
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Calculation of Drug Dosages: A Work Text (Main RS57 >R33 2020)
Clinical Medical Assisting: a Professional, Field Smart Approach to the Workplace (Main R728.8 .H448 2017)
Ethics of health Care: A guide for Clinical Practice (Main R724 .E27 2018)
Kinn's the Medical Assistant: an Applied Learning Approach (Main R728.8 .K493 2020)
Law, Liability, & Ethics for Medical Office Professionals (Main KF3821 .F55 2018)
Medical Assistant Exam Prep: Your All-in-One Guide to the CMA & RMA Exams (Main R728.8 .M384 2019)
Pharmacology Clear and Simple: a Guide to Drug Classifications and Dosage Calculations (Main RM300 .W38 2018)
Principles of Pharmacology for Medical Assisting (Main RM300 .R533 2017)
Medical Office Professionals: a Practical Career Guide (Career Collection R690 .S26 2019)
Professionalism in Health Care: a Primer for Career Success (Career Collection R725.5 .M35 2017)
CMA Exam Preparation Guide 2019 & 2020 (Instructional Media R728.8 .C53 2019)
MA Notes: Medical Assistant's Pocket Guide (Instructional Media R728.8 .B687 2016)
Medical Assistant Exam Prep 2019-2020 (Instructional Media R728.8 .M37 2019)- Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It has full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. - CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, it is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. - Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. - Health Source - Consumer Edition
Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information which includes drug information in lay language for consumers. - PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service which indexes over 5,000 medical, dental, nursing and allied health journals.
Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either a) in the public domain or b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone wiht free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activies (retain, reuse, revise, remix, redistribute). creativecommons.org
Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools
CareerOneStop
Career Wise
O*NET