Open Educational Resources

Open educational resources (OER) are teaching and learning materials that are freely available to students, educators, and the general public. They are openly licensed so that others can adopt or reuse this material for their own purposes. 

OER can be retained, reused, revised, remixed, and redistributed. In practice this means:

• Retain - the right to make, own, and control copies of the content (e.g., download, duplicate, store, and manage)
• Reuse - the right to use the content in settings like classes, on websites, in videos, etc.
• Revise - the right to adapt, adjust, modify, or alter the content
• Remix - the right to combine the original or revised content with other material to create something new (e.g. combine two chapters from different books into a new book)
• Redistribute - the right to share copies of the original content, your revisions, or your remixes with others 

• BC Campus Open Textbook Collection
  Open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.)
• LibreTexts
  Open access textbooks, exercises, simulations, worksheets, and more on all topics.
• Lumen Learning
  Open course materials curated and created for general education courses.
• Mason OER Metafinder
  Simultaneously search 16 OER repositories
• Merlot
  A curated collection of online learning and support materials, including learning objects and tutorials
• OASIS
  From SUNY Geneseo, Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. Try OER by Subject to find materials for a particular discipline.
• OER Commons
  Discover resources by subject area, material type, and more. The advanced search allows limiting by conditions of use.
• Open Textbook Library
  From the University of Minnesota, find open source textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality.
• Opendora
  Open resources created by and used by Minnesota State faculty
• OpenStax
  Peer-reviewed, openly licensed, free textbooks with additional learning resources.
• Pressbooks Directory
  Search public books created with Pressbooks, a tool for creating books
• Skills Commons
  Open digital library of Workforce Training Materials

• Openverse
  Searches 12 major repositories of CC online content all at once.
• Pixabay
  High quality stock images, videos and music.
• Wikimedia Commons
  A collection of image, sound, and video.

• eCampusOntario H5P Studio
  Find H5P objects. Filter by Creative Commons license.
• H5P.org Examples and Downloads
  H5P makes it easy to create interactive content by providing a range of content types for various needs. Preview and explore these content types below.
• Pressbooks Directory - filtered for H5P activities
  Use additional filters to find subjects. H5P activities within these books can be used and adapted elsewhere based on the CC license.

• Is this an OER? Addressing the Complex Relationship between Open and Affordable Course Materials
  Help with supporting open and affordable course material programs better articulate the differences between these course material types and the unique benefits of each. Includes infographics and handouts.
• OER Champion Playbook
• OER Starter Kit
  Provides instructors with an introduction to the use and creation of open educational resources (OER). The text is broken into five sections: Getting Started, Copyright, Finding OER, Teaching with OER, and Creating OER.
• OER Starter Kit for Program Managers
• OER Student Toolkit
  From BCcampus Open Education, this toolkit explains the benefits of OER and provides guidance on how students can help promote OER adoption.
• Student Government Toolkit: Making Textbooks Affordable
  From the Open Textbook Alliance, this toolkit provides the resources that student governments and state student associations need in order to bring open textbooks to their campuses and save students money.

• Marking Open and Affordable Courses: Best Practices and Case Studies

• OER Sharepoint Site for Minnesota State
  Keep up to date with OER in the Minnesota State system.
• Opendora
  Open resources created by and used by Minnesota State faculty

• Anoka-Ramsey Community College OER Guide
• Bemidji State OER Guide
• Central Lakes OER Guide
• Century College OER Guide
• Dakota County Technical College Affordable Learning and Open Educational Resources (OER)
• Inver Hills Community College OER Guide
• Lake Superior College OER Toolkit
• Metropolitan State University OER Guide
• Minneapolis College OER Info
• Minnesota North College OER Start Guide
• Minnesota State University, Mankato OER Guide
• Normandale Community College OER Guide
• North Hennepin Community College Open Source Textbooks
• Rochester Community and Technical College OER Guide
• Saint Cloud State University Affordability and OER Guide
• Saint Cloud Technical and Community College OER Guide
• Saint Paul College OER Guide
• South Central College OER Guide
• Southwest Minnesota State University OER Guide
• Winona State University OER Guide