The first part of the research process involves understanding your own frame of reference, asking yourself some questions about your topic, and thinking about how other people talk about your topic. Then, you can start deciding what words to use to search for articles about your topic. This worksheet can help with those steps. (There is also a video in the playlist on D2L that walks through the worksheet.)
Starting the Research Process (LaFleur)
Starting the Research Process (LaFleur)
Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more. Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues. ProQuest News & Newspapers
News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Libby Merrill
Reference and Instruction Librarian
libby.merrill@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
Three common types of articles are scholarly articles, popular articles, and trade or professional articles. All three types of sources can be useful depending on your research goals.
To learn more, read Scholarly, Popular, and Trade Articles from Loyola Marymount University Library.
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
CAPPS Questions to Ask
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
CAPPS Questions to Ask
MLA Quick Guide (PDF)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.