Environmental Science

This guide will help you find resources for your environmental science classes. The guide is divded into the following sections:

Articles

• Find articles in recommended scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular periodicals.

Books

• Find physical and electronic books.

Cite Your Sources

• Find links to help you cite your sources.

Keith Cich
Librarian
Ruth A. Myers Library

218.879.0837
​keith.cich@fdltcc.edu

 

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Provides full text articles from over 4,600 publications, covering a wide range of academic subjects.

GreenFILE (EBSCO) This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

JSTOR Full-text access to selected scholarly journals starting with first issues, some titles going back to the nineteenth century. Includes access to the Biological Sciences Collection.

Science Reference Center Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides full text access to hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. 

New York Times Website Full access to nytimes.com and the NYT mobile app for all current FDLTCC students, staff and faculty. Follow the library’s New York Times Student Guide to create your account.

Wall Street Journal Website Full access to wsj.com and the WSJ mobile app for current FDLTCC students. Follow the Wall Street Journal Student Guide to create your account.

ScienceNews: Founded in 1921 as an independent, nonprofit source of accurate information on the latest news of science, medicine and technology. Published by the Society for Science, a nonprofit 501(c)(3) membership organization dedicated to public engagement in scientific research and education.

ScienceDaily: Features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.

EurekAlert!: A nonprofit news-release distribution platform operated by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as a resource for journalists and the public. EurekAlert! hosts news releases produced by universities, journal publishers, medical centers, government agencies, corporations, and other organizations engaged in all disciplines of scientific research.

RealClearScience: Daily-curated aggregator of news articles including opinion pieces, videos, polls and original content.

 
The Palgrave Handbook of Climate History
White, Sam ; Pfister, Christian ; Mauelshagen, Franz; White, Sam ; Mauelshagen, Franz ; Pfister, Christian
2018



Human Impact on the Environment: An Illustrated World Atlas
Govorushko, Sergey
2016

Fresh banana leaves : healing indigenous landscapes through indigenous science
Hernandez, Jessica, 1990- author.
2022



Under a white sky : the nature of the future
Kolbert, Elizabeth, author.
2021




White pine : the natural and human history of a foundational American tree
Pastor, John, author.
2023

 

Films On Demand: Master Academic Package An online video streaming database of educational videos including A&E, PBS, BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films and more. This collection contains over 40,000 titles across many disciplines including health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, and business & economics.

Kanopy An on-demand streaming video service providing access to feature length films, documentaries and education videos across a wide range of subjects.

The library catalog and most of the library databases have built in tools to help you format citations for your works cited/reference page.
After finding an article, look for a "Cite" icon. Choose the whichever you are using (APA, MLA, etc.), then, copy and past the citation into your document. Always double check the format in case there are errors.

                  

• APA
• MLA

When using a website, these citation generators can help you create MLA and APA citations for online articles:

EasyBib.com

CitationMachine.net