In the Library

Reference and Facts

Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.

Websites

AGRIS
AGRIS is a global public domain Database with 2816958 structured bibliographical records on agricultural science and technology. 79.7% of records are citations from scientific journals. The bibliographic references contain either links to the full text of the publication or additional information retrieved from related Internet resources.
EarthScape.org
EarthScape is a comprehensive aggregation of resources in the Earth and Environmental Sciences. The four sections of the compass give you – the teacher, student, scientist, or decision-maker – instant access to the tools you need to understand our planet.
Environmental Literacy Council
Virtual library for educators and students offers cross-disciplinary environmental resources -over 1000 pages of background information and resources along with curricular materials and textbook reviews.
Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
Working with Minnesotans to protect, conserve and improve our environment and enhance our quality of life.
National Center for Appropriate Technology
Since 1976 the National Center for Appropriate Technology has been serving economically disadvantaged people by providing information and access to appropriate technologies that can help improve their lives.
Natural Resources Conservation Service
Natural Resources Conservation Service provides leadership in a partnership effort to help America's private land owners and managers conserve their soil, water, and other natural resources.
Nature Conservancy
The Nature Conservancy — the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people.
U.S. Census of Agriculture
The Census of Agriculture is the leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. It is the only source of uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States.
U.S. Department of Agriculture
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
The official Food and Drug Administration website.

Search Databases for Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
AGRICOLA
"AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century."
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
ProQuest Newsstand Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
General Science Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A well-rounded science collection of in-depth information for scientific research needs. This consists of over 200 journal references encompassing the most popular scientific titles.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
A comprehensive research database that provides full-text access to science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. 

Streaming Video

Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Feature Films for Education 
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
  

Key to Icons

= Restricted resource
= Full text
= Images
= Video
= Audio
= Trial
Provided by eLibrary Minnesota = Provided by eLibrary Minnesota
= Reference
= Ebooks

Librarians

Heather Biedermann

Nasir Awill

Ask A Librarian

Meet with a Librarian:   

                 

Fall Hours 2021:

  • Mon-Thur: 7:30 am - 6pm 
  • Fri: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun: Closed

Email: library@southcentral.edu

Phone: 507-389-7245

AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic           

Catalog Onesearch

Catalog

Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.

  

 

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.

If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.