Where Do I Start?
Online Writing Lab (OWL at Purdue)
This is the starting point for the OWL at Purdue. It's a good source for all aspects of research, writing, and citation.
Research: Where do I begin? (OWL)
This section of the OWL helps students figure out how to start the research process.
Mind Map- Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Mind Map tool helps you connect concepts visually. Just type in a keyword, and the tool will map it. You'll need to log in with your StarID and password, if accessing from off campus.
Google Search Tips and Tricks (pdf)
Make Google work for you! Use this document to search Google in a smart and efficient way.
Google Scholar Search Tips
Searching Google Scholar can be challenging. Use this guide for help.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides topics, each with an overview (objective background/ description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. It also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
What are Databases?
Databases are searchable collections of electronic materials. They can be newspapers, magazines, academic journals, or references like dictionaries and encyclopedias. The advantages to using a database instead of a search engine like Google are:
1) The information has already been evaluated for credibility.
2) Databases contain sophisticated tools to help you narrow your search without having to "speak computer." 
3) Much of the information in databases can't be found with a Google search. They are part of the "invisible web." 
Please refer to the Research Tutorials (Video) section for help in using the databases.
Search Newspapers
ProQuest Newsstand Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
Plagiarism
Understanding Plagiarism (tutorial)
This tutorial produced by Eastern Michigan University puts the concepts of plagiarism into real-life context. It’s set up in a quiz format with closed-captioning.
Did I Plagiarize? (Flowchart)
This flowchart explains the severity of different types of plagiarism.  
Avoiding Plagiarism (OWL at Purdue)
The Purdue OWL is often used by students in all phases of research and writing. This particular module focuses on avoiding plagiarism, recognizing it in someone’s work, strategies to use when taking notes and paraphrasing, as well as a “plagiarism exercise” to illustrate the principles explained earlier.
Research Tutorial Videos
EBSCO Tutorials
Scroll down the EBSCO list to find the video tutorials you need.

Evaluating Internet Health Information
Teaches the user how to evaluate health information for accuracy.

The Information Cycle
The Information Cycle from Kimbel Library on Vimeo.

Scholarly Sources vs Popular Sources
Scholarly Sources vs Popular Sources from Kimbel Library on Vimeo.

Using Wikipedia Wisely

How to Use Wikipedia Wisely from Stanford History Education Group on Youtube.

What is a Scholarly Article

What is a Scholarly Article? from Kimbel Library on Vimeo.
How Do I Cite My Sources?
EasyBib
This resource allows you to generate an MLA citation from a variety of materials.
Son of Citation Machine
Son of Citation Machine helps you create citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formats. It also has a button called EssayCheck that will allow you to copy and paste your text in to have it checked/scored and get feedback.
APA Style (OWL)
APA In-Text Citation
The College of St. Scholastica in Duluth provides this comprehensive explanation of APA in-text citations, complete with examples.
MLA Style (OWL)
MLA Style Center
​The MLA Style Center, published by the Modern Language Association, is the only authorized Web site about MLA style. This free, evolving resource is designed as a companion to the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.
How Do I Know This Information is Credible?
CRAAP Test worksheet
This worksheet uses a rating method for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose when evaluating web resources. 
Evaluating Sources (OWL)
Use this resource to help you decide if the information you are looking at is credible and appropriate for your research topic.
the Fact checker's guide to manipulated video 
By searching through and watching many hours of manipulated videos and reflecting on notable examples in the news cycle, we were able to pull out common threads for this standardized vocabulary. As the technology to manipulate video advances, there's even more urgency to understand what's real versus fake. 
Catalog Onesearch
Catalog

Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.

  

 

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.

If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.

Librarians

Nasir Awill

Heather Biedermann

Ask A Librarian

Meet with a Librarian:   

                 

Fall Hours 2021:

  • Mon-Thur: 7:30 am - 6pm 
  • Fri: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun: Closed

Email: library@southcentral.edu

Phone: 507-389-7245

AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic