Artcyclopedia : The fine art search engine
An art-focused search engine geared for searching by artist.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Getty Research Portal
"The Getty Research Portal provides access to digitized resources for the printed literature of art, including fundamental texts, rare books, exhibition catalogues, auction catalogues, and related literature."
Student Resources in Context
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
An art-focused search engine geared for searching by artist.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Getty Research Portal
"The Getty Research Portal provides access to digitized resources for the printed literature of art, including fundamental texts, rare books, exhibition catalogues, auction catalogues, and related literature."
Student Resources in Context
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
American Memory from the Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Art History
Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook.We created audios and videos about works of art found in standard art history survey texts, organized the files stylistically and chronologically, and added text and still images.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection.
Rosetti Archive
The Rossetti Archive facilitates the scholarly study of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, the painter, designer, writer, and translator who was, according to both John Ruskin and Walter Pater, the most important and original artistic force in the second half of the nineteenth century in Great Britain.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Art History
Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook.We created audios and videos about works of art found in standard art history survey texts, organized the files stylistically and chronologically, and added text and still images.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection.
Rosetti Archive
The Rossetti Archive facilitates the scholarly study of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, the painter, designer, writer, and translator who was, according to both John Ruskin and Walter Pater, the most important and original artistic force in the second half of the nineteenth century in Great Britain.
Renaissance Art: a beginner's guide
"The 15th century saw the evolution of a distinct and powerfully influential European culture. But what does the familiar phrase “Renaissance Art” actually describe? Through engaging discussion of timeless works by artists such as Jan van Eyck, Leonardo da Vinci, and Michelangelo, Nichols produces a masterpiece of his own as he explores the truly original and diverse character of the artistic Renaissance." -- from the EBSCO record
Bridgeman Images: The Bridgeman Art Library
A unique and comprehensive collection of art masterpieces of all varieties: historical, European, Asian, American, and more.
"The 15th century saw the evolution of a distinct and powerfully influential European culture. But what does the familiar phrase “Renaissance Art” actually describe? Through engaging discussion of timeless works by artists such as Jan van Eyck, Leonardo da Vinci, and Michelangelo, Nichols produces a masterpiece of his own as he explores the truly original and diverse character of the artistic Renaissance." -- from the EBSCO record
Bridgeman Images: The Bridgeman Art Library
A unique and comprehensive collection of art masterpieces of all varieties: historical, European, Asian, American, and more.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
American Museum of Natural History Digital Special Collections
Includes images of the museum's archival photographs, art, ephemera, and rare book illustrations. This collection contains nearly 8,000 images.
AICT: Art Images for College Teaching
This collection of art is maintained by volunteers from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD) and is dedicated to the principle of "free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community." -- AICT
Dutch Paintings of the Seventeenth Century
Part of the Getty Foundation's Online Scholarly Catalogue Initiative. This web resource is based on the 1995 print edition of the same name.
Google Art Project
"Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces." --from Google Art Project.
Harvard Art Museums
A site that combines three museums: the Fogg Museum (Western European Art from the Middle Ages to the present), the Busch-Reisinger Museum (focus on art from German-speaking countries), and Arthur M. Sackler Museum (primarily Asian, Middle Eastern, and Mediterranean works).
International Center of Photography
ICP is a center where photographers and artists, students and scholars can create and interpret the world of the image.
Minnesota Reflections
Minnesota Reflections, which is more than 10 years old, is a project of the Minnesota Digital Library. The collection brings you more than 135,000 images, maps and documents from more than 150 of the state's cultural heritage organizations.
National Gallery- London, England
"The National Gallery houses the national collection of paintings in the Western European tradition from the 13th to the 19th centuries."
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery of Art was created in 1937 for the people of the United States of America by a joint resolution of Congress, accepting the gift of financier and art collector Andrew W. Mellon. During the 1920s, Mr. Mellon began collecting with the intention of forming a gallery of art for the nation in Washington.
NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 28.400 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available.
Wellcome Images
Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
Includes images of the museum's archival photographs, art, ephemera, and rare book illustrations. This collection contains nearly 8,000 images.
AICT: Art Images for College Teaching
This collection of art is maintained by volunteers from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD) and is dedicated to the principle of "free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community." -- AICT
Dutch Paintings of the Seventeenth Century
Part of the Getty Foundation's Online Scholarly Catalogue Initiative. This web resource is based on the 1995 print edition of the same name.
Google Art Project
"Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces." --from Google Art Project.
Harvard Art Museums
A site that combines three museums: the Fogg Museum (Western European Art from the Middle Ages to the present), the Busch-Reisinger Museum (focus on art from German-speaking countries), and Arthur M. Sackler Museum (primarily Asian, Middle Eastern, and Mediterranean works).
International Center of Photography
ICP is a center where photographers and artists, students and scholars can create and interpret the world of the image.
Minnesota Reflections
Minnesota Reflections, which is more than 10 years old, is a project of the Minnesota Digital Library. The collection brings you more than 135,000 images, maps and documents from more than 150 of the state's cultural heritage organizations.
National Gallery- London, England
"The National Gallery houses the national collection of paintings in the Western European tradition from the 13th to the 19th centuries."
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery of Art was created in 1937 for the people of the United States of America by a joint resolution of Congress, accepting the gift of financier and art collector Andrew W. Mellon. During the 1920s, Mr. Mellon began collecting with the intention of forming a gallery of art for the nation in Washington.
NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 28.400 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available.
Wellcome Images
Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Films on Demand: Art and Architecture
A collection of over 1,000 streaming videos on the topics of Art and Architecture.
Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Films on Demand: Art and Architecture
A collection of over 1,000 streaming videos on the topics of Art and Architecture.
Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
Heather Biedermann
- MLIS, MS. College Librarian
- heather.biedermann@southcentral.edu
- 507-389-7223
Meet with a Librarian:
Spring Hours 2024:
North Mankato Campus Library
- Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
- Sat - Sun: Closed
Faribault Campus Library
- Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
- Fri- Sun: Closed
Email: library@southcentral.edu
Phone:
North Mankato: 507-389-7245
Faribault: 507-332-5814
AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Chat Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic
Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.
The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.
Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.
If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.
= Provided by eLibrary Minnesota