In the Library

Reference and Facts

Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Global PlantsRestricted Resource 
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.  
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
A comprehensive research database that provides full-text access to science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. 

Search Databases for Articles

Academic Search PremierRestricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
General Science Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A well-rounded science collection of in-depth information for scientific research needs. This consists of over 200 journal references encompassing the most popular scientific titles.
PLoS
PLoS (Public Library of Science) is a non-profit publisher of Open Access materials in the scientific arena.

Websites

Avibase
Information about 10,000 species of birds including distribution, taxonomy and synonyms.
Exploring Life's Origins
The goal of this project is to use molecular illustration and animation to help describe origins of life research and theories to broad audiences. This website is part of a multimedia exhibit at the Museum of Science.
Forest History Society
The Forest History Society is a nonprofit library and archive dedicated to collecting, preserving, and disseminating forest and conservation history for all to use.
Human Anatomy Online
An inner exploration of Human Anatomy. Each topic has animations, 100’s of graphics, and thousands of descriptive links.
Microbial Life
This site contains a variety of educational and supporting materials for students and teachers of microbiology. 
Plants Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Science Research
ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine.
Understanding Evolution
This site helps people understand what evolution is, how it works, how it factors into life, how research in evolutionary biology is performed, and how ideas in this area have changed over time.
Virtual Cell Animation
This collection has been developed to introduce students to new concepts. By walking through the still images and movie included for each topic, viewers are in control of choosing the learning style that best fits their needs  
Wellcome Images
Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
WildFinder
This application allows the user to visualize global distribution of animal species based on the World Wildlife Fund's terrestrial ecoregion maps.

Streaming Video

Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Feature Films for Education 
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
Video Lectures
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.

Librarians

Heather Biedermann

Nasir Awill

Ask A Librarian

Meet with a Librarian:   

                 

Fall Hours 2021:

  • Mon-Thur: 7:30 am - 6pm 
  • Fri: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun: Closed

Email: library@southcentral.edu

Phone: 507-389-7245

AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic           

Catalog Onesearch

Catalog

Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.

  

 

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.

If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.

Key to Icons

= Restricted resource
= Full text
= Images
= Video
= Audio
= Trial
Provided by eLibrary Minnesota = Provided by eLibrary Minnesota
= Reference
= Ebooks