In the Library

Reference and Facts

Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.

Websites

American Communication Association (ACA)
"The ACA is a not-for-profit virtual professional association with actual presence in the world of communication scholars and practitioners."
Center for Media Literacy
The Center for Media Literacy's mission is to provide educational resources and promote media literacy education. 
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Media & Communication
Subject-specific subsection of the DOAJ -- a site designed to increase the visibility, ease of use, and impact of open access scientific and scholarly journals. Contains listings for over 90 open access journals related to communication issues.
Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
An independent United States government agency established by the Communications Act of 1934. The FCC is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable.
Freedom Forum Online
A nonpartisan foundation located in D.C., dedicated to three priority areas: the Newseum, First Amendment freedoms, and newsroom diversity.
Gallup
An organization best known for its public opinion polls, the results of which are often referenced by the media. Polls are both national and international in scope, and are used to identify opinion trends over time.
Pew Research Center's Internet & American Life Project
One of seven projects that make up the Pew Research Center, this resource produces reports exploring the impact of the internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life.
STATS: Statistical Assessment Service
A nonprofit, nonpartisan resource on the use and abuse of science and statistics in the media. An affiliate of George Mason University since 2004, STATS' goals are to correct scientific misinformation in the media and in public policy resulting from bad science, politics, or a simple lack of information or knowledge; and to act as a resource for journalists and policy makers on major scientific issues and controversies.
 
 

Search Databases for Articles

Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides academic and scholarly content focused on the fields of Communication and Mass Media. This should be the first choice of students in communication classes when research articles are required.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
A source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
Psychology Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource, (formerly titled Psychology Journals) provides citations, abstracts and selected full-text articles on psychology and related disciplines.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Interdisciplinary full text of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
ProQuest Newsstand Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
EBSCO eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
SCC's collection of electronic books can be searched in this database.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides topics, each with an overview (objective background/ description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. It also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.

Streaming Video

Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Feature Films for Education 
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
  

Librarians

Nasir Awill

Heather Biedermann

Ask A Librarian

Meet with a Librarian:   

                 

Fall Hours 2021:

  • Mon-Thur: 7:30 am - 6pm 
  • Fri: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun: Closed

Email: library@southcentral.edu

Phone: 507-389-7245

AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic           

Catalog Onesearch

Catalog

Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.

  

 

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.

If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.