A.D.A.M Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Human Anatomy Online
An inner exploration of Human Anatomy. Each topic has animations, 100’s of graphics, and thousands of descriptive links.
Oral Health
Informatin published by the Mayo Clinic regarding oral health.
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Human Anatomy Online
An inner exploration of Human Anatomy. Each topic has animations, 100’s of graphics, and thousands of descriptive links.
Oral Health
Informatin published by the Mayo Clinic regarding oral health.
CAREERwise Education
A Minnesota State Colleges and Universities resource for career information and planning.
Dental Assistant Licensing Information
Maintained by the State of Minnesota, this site contains information you need about being licensed.
GPS LifePlan
"The GPS LifePlan helps students set goals and design plans that will lead them to the success they desire."
Resume' Help (Videos)
This is a collection of video segments about building and writing your resume'.
A Minnesota State Colleges and Universities resource for career information and planning.
Dental Assistant Licensing Information
Maintained by the State of Minnesota, this site contains information you need about being licensed.
GPS LifePlan
"The GPS LifePlan helps students set goals and design plans that will lead them to the success they desire."
Resume' Help (Videos)
This is a collection of video segments about building and writing your resume'.
American Dental Association
Founded in 1859, the not-for-profit American Dental Association is the nation's largest dental association, representing more than 159,000 dentist members. --from the website
American Dental Hygienists' Association
ADHA believes in helping dental hygienists achieve their full potential as they seek to improve the public’s oral health. We support your goals by helping to ensure access to quality oral health care; promoting dental hygiene education, licensure, practice and research; and representing your legislative interests at the local, state and federal levels. --from the website
Dimensions of Dental Hygiene
Dimensions of Dental Hygiene is committed to the highest standards of professionalism, accuracy and integrity in our mission of education supporting oral health care professionals and those allied with the dental industry.--from the website
Minnesota Dental Association
The Minnesota Dental Association is a statewide professional membership organization representing Minnesota-licensed dentists and dental students, with a membership of over 3,000 dentists. --from the website
Founded in 1859, the not-for-profit American Dental Association is the nation's largest dental association, representing more than 159,000 dentist members. --from the website
American Dental Hygienists' Association
ADHA believes in helping dental hygienists achieve their full potential as they seek to improve the public’s oral health. We support your goals by helping to ensure access to quality oral health care; promoting dental hygiene education, licensure, practice and research; and representing your legislative interests at the local, state and federal levels. --from the website
Dimensions of Dental Hygiene
Dimensions of Dental Hygiene is committed to the highest standards of professionalism, accuracy and integrity in our mission of education supporting oral health care professionals and those allied with the dental industry.--from the website
Minnesota Dental Association
The Minnesota Dental Association is a statewide professional membership organization representing Minnesota-licensed dentists and dental students, with a membership of over 3,000 dentists. --from the website
CINAHL Ultimate
Database with full text, providing authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Consumer Health Complete
Provides full-text content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
Health Source: Nursing /Academic Edition
Provides scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE
Provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including scholarly research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Database with full text, providing authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Consumer Health Complete
Provides full-text content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
Health Source: Nursing /Academic Edition
Provides scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE
Provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including scholarly research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Journal of Periodontology
Established in 1930 as the official publication of the AAP, the Journal of Periodontology (JOP) publishes original papers of the highest scientific quality to support the practice, education, and research in the dental specialty of periodontics.-- from the website
Journal of the American Dental Association (JADA)
Definitive source of information on oral care and dental-related research; it supports the role of the dentist in the health care community, embracing new technological advances and translating important research into practical applications.
Northwest Dentistry
Journal of the Minnesota Dental Association.
Special Care in Dentistry
Special Care in Dentistry is the official journal of the Special Care Dentistry Association. It is the only journal published in North America devoted to improving oral health in people with special needs.-- from the website
Established in 1930 as the official publication of the AAP, the Journal of Periodontology (JOP) publishes original papers of the highest scientific quality to support the practice, education, and research in the dental specialty of periodontics.-- from the website
Journal of the American Dental Association (JADA)
Definitive source of information on oral care and dental-related research; it supports the role of the dentist in the health care community, embracing new technological advances and translating important research into practical applications.
Northwest Dentistry
Journal of the Minnesota Dental Association.
Special Care in Dentistry
Special Care in Dentistry is the official journal of the Special Care Dentistry Association. It is the only journal published in North America devoted to improving oral health in people with special needs.-- from the website
Dentistry-related eBooks at SCC
This link will search the
SCC Libraries' EBSCO eBooks related to dentistry.
Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Films on Demand: Health and Medicine
This link will take you to the Health and Medicine subject page. There, you can search within that collection for anything related to dentistry.
Nursing Education in Video
This collection has videos relating to HIPAA and medical ethics.
Public Health Image Library
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. (The search uses MeSH terms)
Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
This link will search the
SCC Libraries' EBSCO eBooks related to dentistry.
Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Films on Demand: Health and Medicine
This link will take you to the Health and Medicine subject page. There, you can search within that collection for anything related to dentistry.
Nursing Education in Video
This collection has videos relating to HIPAA and medical ethics.
Public Health Image Library
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. (The search uses MeSH terms)
Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
Heather Biedermann
- MLIS, MS. College Librarian
- heather.biedermann@southcentral.edu
- 507-389-7223
Meet with a Librarian:
Spring Hours 2024:
North Mankato Campus Library
- Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
- Sat - Sun: Closed
Faribault Campus Library
- Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
- Fri- Sun: Closed
Email: library@southcentral.edu
Phone:
North Mankato: 507-389-7245
Faribault: 507-332-5814
AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Chat Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic
Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.
The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.
Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.
If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.