Britannica Online Academic Edition 
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Global Plants
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
Student Resources in Context
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Global Plants
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
Student Resources in Context
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
AirNow
AirNow tells you how clean or polluted your outdoor air is, along with associated health effects that may be of concern. It translates air quality data into numbers and colors that help people understand when to take action to protect their health.
Energy Information Association
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
Environmental Health and Toxicology Information
TEHIP maintains a comprehensive web site that provides access to resources produced by it and by other government agencies and organizations. This web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources.
Environmental Literacy Council
Virtual library for educators and students offers cross-disciplinary environmental resources -over 1000 pages of background information and resources along with curricular materials and textbook reviews.
International Energy Agency
The International Energy Agency (IEA) is an intergovernmental organisation which acts as energy policy advisor to 28 member countries in their effort to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for their citizens.
International Data Base
The U.S.Census Bureau's database is a resource for demographic data on countries and areas of the world.Browsable by country or by region, the data can be outputted to Excel or CSV files.
Natural Resources Conservation Service
Natural Resources Conservation Service provides leadership in a partnership effort to help America's private land owners and managers conserve their soil, water, and other natural resources.
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
United Nations Environmental Program
Provides leadership and encourage partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations.
U.S. Geological Survey
Unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Environmental Protection Agency is working for a cleaner, healthier environment for the American people.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
AirNow tells you how clean or polluted your outdoor air is, along with associated health effects that may be of concern. It translates air quality data into numbers and colors that help people understand when to take action to protect their health.
Energy Information Association
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
Environmental Health and Toxicology Information
TEHIP maintains a comprehensive web site that provides access to resources produced by it and by other government agencies and organizations. This web site includes links to databases, bibliographies, tutorials, and other scientific and consumer-oriented resources.
Environmental Literacy Council
Virtual library for educators and students offers cross-disciplinary environmental resources -over 1000 pages of background information and resources along with curricular materials and textbook reviews.
International Energy Agency
The International Energy Agency (IEA) is an intergovernmental organisation which acts as energy policy advisor to 28 member countries in their effort to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for their citizens.
International Data Base
The U.S.Census Bureau's database is a resource for demographic data on countries and areas of the world.Browsable by country or by region, the data can be outputted to Excel or CSV files.
Natural Resources Conservation Service
Natural Resources Conservation Service provides leadership in a partnership effort to help America's private land owners and managers conserve their soil, water, and other natural resources.
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
United Nations Environmental Program
Provides leadership and encourage partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations.
U.S. Geological Survey
Unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Environmental Protection Agency is working for a cleaner, healthier environment for the American people.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Films on Demand - Ecology
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
General Science Collection
A well-rounded science collection of in-depth information for scientific research needs. This consists of over 200 journal references encompassing the most popular scientific titles.
GreenFILE
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
PLoS
PLoS (Public Library of Science) is a non-profit publisher of Open Access materials in the scientific arena.
ProQuest Newsstand Complete
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
Science Reference Center
A comprehensive research database that provides full-text access to science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
General Science Collection
A well-rounded science collection of in-depth information for scientific research needs. This consists of over 200 journal references encompassing the most popular scientific titles.
GreenFILE
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
PLoS
PLoS (Public Library of Science) is a non-profit publisher of Open Access materials in the scientific arena.
ProQuest Newsstand Complete
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
Science Reference Center
A comprehensive research database that provides full-text access to science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.
Earth Justice
Earthjustice is a non-profit public interest law firm dedicated to protecting the magnificent places, natural resources, and wildlife of this earth, and to defending the right of all people to a healthy environment.
Ecological Internet
Your Complete Source for Environmental Sustainability News and Action, Expert Analysis, Information Retrieval Tools, Portal Services, and Web Site and Campaign Consulting
Global Climate Change - NASA's Eyes on the Earth
NASA's site, subtitled "Vital Signs of the Planet" provides scientific evidence of global climate change.
Exploring Life's Origins
The goal of this project is to use molecular illustration and animation to help describe origins of life research and theories to broad audiences. This website is part of a multimedia exhibit at the Museum of Science.
Global Forest Watch
Global Forest Watch is an open data website that aims to monitor deforestation worldwide.
Microbial Life
This site contains a variety of educational and supporting materials for students and teachers of microbiology.
National Geographic
National Geographic supports critical expeditions and scientific fieldwork, encourages geography education for students,and promotes natural and cultural conservation.
Nature Conservancy
The Nature Conservancy — the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people.
Plants Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Resources for the Future
RFF is a nonprofit and nonpartisan organization that conducts independent research – rooted primarily in economics and other social sciences – on environmental, energy, natural resource and environmental health issues. .
Science Research
ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine.
Understanding Evolution
This site helps people understand what evolution is, how it works, how it factors into life, how research in evolutionary biology is performed, and how ideas in this area have changed over time.
WildFinder
This application allows the user to visualize global distribution of animal species based on the World Wildlife Fund's terrestrial ecoregion maps.
Earthjustice is a non-profit public interest law firm dedicated to protecting the magnificent places, natural resources, and wildlife of this earth, and to defending the right of all people to a healthy environment.
Ecological Internet
Your Complete Source for Environmental Sustainability News and Action, Expert Analysis, Information Retrieval Tools, Portal Services, and Web Site and Campaign Consulting
Global Climate Change - NASA's Eyes on the Earth
NASA's site, subtitled "Vital Signs of the Planet" provides scientific evidence of global climate change.
Exploring Life's Origins
The goal of this project is to use molecular illustration and animation to help describe origins of life research and theories to broad audiences. This website is part of a multimedia exhibit at the Museum of Science.
Global Forest Watch
Global Forest Watch is an open data website that aims to monitor deforestation worldwide.
Microbial Life
This site contains a variety of educational and supporting materials for students and teachers of microbiology.
National Geographic
National Geographic supports critical expeditions and scientific fieldwork, encourages geography education for students,and promotes natural and cultural conservation.
Nature Conservancy
The Nature Conservancy — the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people.
Plants Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Resources for the Future
RFF is a nonprofit and nonpartisan organization that conducts independent research – rooted primarily in economics and other social sciences – on environmental, energy, natural resource and environmental health issues. .
Science Research
ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine.
Understanding Evolution
This site helps people understand what evolution is, how it works, how it factors into life, how research in evolutionary biology is performed, and how ideas in this area have changed over time.
WildFinder
This application allows the user to visualize global distribution of animal species based on the World Wildlife Fund's terrestrial ecoregion maps.
Heather Biedermann
- MLIS, MS. College Librarian
- heather.biedermann@southcentral.edu
- 507-389-7223
Meet with a Librarian:
Spring Hours 2024:
North Mankato Campus Library
- Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
- Sat - Sun: Closed
Faribault Campus Library
- Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
- Fri- Sun: Closed
Email: library@southcentral.edu
Phone:
North Mankato: 507-389-7245
Faribault: 507-332-5814
AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Chat Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic
Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.
The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.
Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.
If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.