In the Library

Reference and Facts

Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Collins Dictionaries 
This site provides dictionaries in English, English for Learners, French, German, Spanish, and Italian, as well as a thesaurus and word games.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Mind Map- Credo Reference Restricted Resource 
The Mind Map tool helps you connect concepts visually. Just type in a keyword, and the tool will map it. You'll need to log in with your StarID and password, if accessing from off campus.
MLA Style Center
​The MLA Style Center, published by the Modern Language Association, is the only authorized Web site about MLA style. This free, evolving resource is designed as a companion to the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.
 

Selected ebooks

Here are a sampling of the ebooks about writing and composition you'll find in our EBSCO eBook Collection:

 

LB2369 Stylish Academic WritingStylish Academic Writing
Helen Sword, 2012

 

PE1408 Polishing Your ProsePolishing Your Prose : How to Turn First Drafts Into Finished Work
Steven Cahn, 2013

 

PE1408 Little Red Writing BookThe Little Red Writing Book : 20 Powerful Principles for Clear and Effective Writing
Brandon Royal, 2012

 

PE1408 Elements of Style CollectionThe Elements of Style Collection
William Strunk, 2016

 

Search Databases for Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides topics, each with an overview (objective background/ description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. It also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
ProQuest Newsstand Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

Search Newspapers

ProQuest Newsstand Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

Streaming Video

Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Feature Films for Education 
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.

Librarians

Nasir Awill

Heather Biedermann

Ask A Librarian

Meet with a Librarian:   

                 

Fall Hours 2021:

  • Mon-Thur: 7:30 am - 6pm 
  • Fri: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun: Closed

Email: library@southcentral.edu

Phone: 507-389-7245

AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic           

Catalog Onesearch

Catalog

Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.

  

 

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.

If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.

Evaluating Information

Evaluating information

Have you ever heard of the CRAAP test? A librarian developed this handy acronym to help you remember these things when evaluating information.

Currency: is this the most up-to-date information on my topic?
Relevance: does this information relate to my topic?
Authority: is the author qualified to write about this subject?
Accuracy: has this information been fact-checked?
Purpose: is this information objective, or is it biased?

Here are some useful guides to help you evaluate the information you find on the web:

Citing sources

You will find that there are different styles for citing the sources you use in your assignments. Your instructor will let you know whether to use APA, MLA, or some other style. Here are some introductory guides to these styles from the Purdue Online Writing Lab:

Our catalog and databases have built-in tools to provide citations for the books, videos, and articles you find in them. Just look for a link that says Cite or Citation, then choose the appropriate style.

Writing help

The Academic Support Center offers tutoring to all SCC students, including help with writing your paper and citing your sources. You can schedule an appointment by emailing asc@southcentral.edu, calling 507-389-7222 or visiting ASC on your campus.

Librarians

Settings

Hide Titlebar
Hide Box Content
Favorite Box

Styles

Librarians

Nasir Awill

Heather Biedermann

Ask A Librarian