Graphic Design / Illustration / Typography

Use these call numbers and keywords to browse for books on these subjects in the library and the library catalog:

• NC997-1003 Commercial Art, Advertising Art
• Z246 Typography

---

Try a Subject search:

• Type
• Type designers
• Layout (Printing)

AIGA Design Archives
The AIGA archives serve to identify, preserve, and make collections of enduring value available to the public. With more than 20,000 selections dating back to 1924, the AIGA Design Archives is a vital record of all disciplines of communication design.

Graphic Design Archive 
The GDA at the Rochester Institute of Technology documents and preserves the work of significant American graphic designers active from the 1920s to the 1960s, as well as selected contemporary designers working in the modernist traditions. 

Milton Glaser Design Study Center & Archives
School of Visual Arts (SVA) Archives, New York
Dedicated to preserving and making accessible significant works by designers, illustrators, and art directors who have close ties to the School of Visual Arts. Media includes sketches and original art, posters, printed samples and ephemera, audio and video recordings, and photographic material.

Artcyclopedia : The fine art search engine
An art-focused search engine geared for searching by artist.
Britannica Online Academic Edition  
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference  
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Getty Research Portal
"The Getty Research Portal provides access to digitized resources for the printed literature of art, including fundamental texts, rare books, exhibition catalogues, auction catalogues, and related literature."
Student Resources in Context  
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.

Typographica
Type reviews; search by foundry, designer, classification, features. 

abc typography
A virtual museum on typography

Canva: A Glossary of Typographic Terms

Design Observer Group

FontFont
A font search engine

Hoefler & Company

Jessica Hische is Awesome

The Typographic Circle

Typophile
Forums for designers to discuss type

Academic Search Premier  
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP  
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.

Design School: Type : A Practical Guide for Students and Designers
Poulin, Richard, author. 


Design School: Type is an in-depth guide to the rules and practices of typography, you'll learn the essential skills of the professional typographer in the detail. Searching for a way to increase your skills as a typographer? This instructive guide, specially designed for students, recent graduates, and self-taught designers is a comprehensive introduction to typography. These guided lessons offer in-depth analysis of all the major areas of theory and practice used by experienced professional designers. Each section is interspersed with tests designed to help you retain the information they've covered, and a selection of relevant support files in popular design software formats so you can test yourself with provided demos. This guide to the rules and practices of typography avoids the temptation to stray into other areas of design technique, preferring to cover the essential skills of the professional typographer in the detail required to arm students and graduates with the knowledge needed for a successful start to their chosen career.

Design school : layout : a practical guide for students and designers
Poulin, Richard, author. 

Design School: Layout is an instructive guide for students, recent graduates, and self-taught designers. It provides a comprehensive introduction to creating and changing layouts: a crucially important skill that underpins practically every aspect of graphic design. You'll get an in-depth analysis of all the major areas of theory and practice used by experienced professional designers. Each section provides an explanation and visual examples of grid systems and an in-depth discussion of compositional principles and strategies. The text is interspersed with tests designed to help you retain key points you've covered in the preceding spreads, and includes illustrations sections with real-world scenarios. This in-depth guide avoids the temptation to stray into other areas of design technique, preferring to cover the essential, detailed skills of the professional graphic designer to arm you with the knowledge needed for a successful start to your chosen career.

Typography Essentials Revised and Updated : 100 Design Principles for Working with Type
Ina Saltz, author.

Typography Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Working with Type is a practical, hands-on resource that distills and organizes the many complex issues surrounding the effective use of typography. An essential reference for designers since 2009, Typography Essentials is now completely refreshed with updated text, new graphics and photos, and a whole new look. Divided into four sections—The Letter, The Word, The Paragraph, and The Page—the text is concise, compact, and easy to reference. Each of the 100 principles, which cover all practical aspects of designing with type, has an explanation and inspiring visual examples drawn from international books, magazines, posters, and more. Typography Essentials is for designers of every medium in which type plays a major role, and is organized and designed to make the process enjoyable and entertaining, as well as instructional.

Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Films on Demand: Graphics and Design 
A collection of over 1,000 streaming videos on the topics of Graphics and Design.
Feature Films for Education 
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
  
 

Library Tutorials and Guides
Research Basics

• 

  "Off Book:Type" presented by PBS Arts

  via Vimeo