BBC Country Profiles
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions."
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Data.gov
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Student Resources in Context
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions."
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Data.gov
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Student Resources in Context
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
American Geographical Society
The American Geographical Society (AGS) advances and promotes geography in business, government, science, and education.
Association of American Geographers
The Association of American Geographers is a nonprofit scientific and educational society founded in 1904. For more than 100 years the AAG has contributed to the advancement of geography
International Data Base
The U.S.Census Bureau's database is a resource for demographic data on countries and areas of the world.Browsable by country or by region, the data can be outputted to Excel or CSV files.
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
U.S. Geological Survey
Unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water.
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The American Geographical Society (AGS) advances and promotes geography in business, government, science, and education.
Association of American Geographers
The Association of American Geographers is a nonprofit scientific and educational society founded in 1904. For more than 100 years the AAG has contributed to the advancement of geography
International Data Base
The U.S.Census Bureau's database is a resource for demographic data on countries and areas of the world.Browsable by country or by region, the data can be outputted to Excel or CSV files.
Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
U.S. Geological Survey
Unbiased, multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information, and water.
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Feature Films for Education
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
General Science Collection
A well-rounded science collection of in-depth information for scientific research needs. This consists of over 200 journal references encompassing the most popular scientific titles.
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
General Science Collection
A well-rounded science collection of in-depth information for scientific research needs. This consists of over 200 journal references encompassing the most popular scientific titles.
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Global Climate Change
NASA's site, subtitled "Vital Signs of the Planet" provides scientific evidence of global climate change.
National Geographic
National Geographic supports critical expeditions and scientific fieldwork, encourages geography education for students,and promotes natural and cultural conservation.
NASA images
The site contains everything from classic photos to educational programming and HD video, and is growing all the time.
NASA Earth Observatory
Contains images from NASA's files including world maps and natural hazards.
Nature Conservancy
The Nature Conservancy — the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people.
World Digital Libray
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress.The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Global Climate Change
NASA's site, subtitled "Vital Signs of the Planet" provides scientific evidence of global climate change.
National Geographic
National Geographic supports critical expeditions and scientific fieldwork, encourages geography education for students,and promotes natural and cultural conservation.
NASA images
The site contains everything from classic photos to educational programming and HD video, and is growing all the time.
NASA Earth Observatory
Contains images from NASA's files including world maps and natural hazards.
Nature Conservancy
The Nature Conservancy — the leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people.
World Digital Libray
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress.The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways. Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.
Heather Biedermann
- MLIS, MS. College Librarian
- heather.biedermann@southcentral.edu
- 507-389-7223
Meet with a Librarian:
Spring Hours 2024:
North Mankato Campus Library
- Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
- Sat - Sun: Closed
Faribault Campus Library
- Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
- Fri- Sun: Closed
Email: library@southcentral.edu
Phone:
North Mankato: 507-389-7245
Faribault: 507-332-5814
AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Chat Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic
Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.
The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.
Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.
If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.