A.D.A.M Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
The medical section of this dictionary is broken down by specialty.
Mind Map- Credo Reference
The Mind Map tool helps you connect concepts visually. Just type in a keyword, and the tool will map it. You'll need to log in with your StarID and password, if accessing from off campus.
Pronunciation Dictionary
A free online Talking Dictionary of English Pronunciation
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
The medical section of this dictionary is broken down by specialty.
Mind Map- Credo Reference
The Mind Map tool helps you connect concepts visually. Just type in a keyword, and the tool will map it. You'll need to log in with your StarID and password, if accessing from off campus.
Pronunciation Dictionary
A free online Talking Dictionary of English Pronunciation
Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Nursing Education in Video
Nursing Education in Video is an online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
Video Lectures
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Nursing Education in Video
Nursing Education in Video is an online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
Video Lectures
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
Public Health Image Library
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. (The search uses MeSH terms)
WinkingSkull.com
WinkingSkull.com is an online study aid for must-know anatomy.
Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files. (The search uses MeSH terms)
WinkingSkull.com
WinkingSkull.com is an online study aid for must-know anatomy.
ALT HealthWatch
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
CINAHL Ultimate
Database with full text, providing authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Consumer Health Complete
Provides full-text content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
Health Source: Nursing /Academic Edition
Provides scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
Nursing & Allied Health Source
Formerly Nursing & Allied Health Source, this resource provides citations, abstracts and select full-text articles about all aspects of nursing and allied health. A great source for evidence-based research articles. Also has thousands of Medcom/Trainex videos to embed in presentations and lessons.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
CINAHL Ultimate
Database with full text, providing authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Consumer Health Complete
Provides full-text content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
Health Source: Nursing /Academic Edition
Provides scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
Nursing & Allied Health Source
Formerly Nursing & Allied Health Source, this resource provides citations, abstracts and select full-text articles about all aspects of nursing and allied health. A great source for evidence-based research articles. Also has thousands of Medcom/Trainex videos to embed in presentations and lessons.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Drug Information Online
Drugs.com is the most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. This site provides free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.
Drugs.com
"Drugs.com...provides a free drug-information service to help you better understand how medicines work: their uses, side effects and potential to interact with other medicines." --from the website
Drugs@FDA
Drugs@FDA includes most of the drug products approved since 1939. The majority of patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information are available for drug products approved since 1998.
EthnoMed
EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups. Information is specific to groups in the Seattle area, but much of the cultural and health information is of interest and applicable in other geographic areas.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. This resource has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Medscape
Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals integrated medical information and educational tools.
Merck Manual
The Merck Manual Online is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions.
National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
PDR.net
"The Physicians' Desk Reference® suite of services provides healthcare professionals multichannel access to important drug information." ---from the website
RxList
RxList, owned and operated by WebMD, is an online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs.
Drugs.com is the most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. This site provides free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.
Drugs.com
"Drugs.com...provides a free drug-information service to help you better understand how medicines work: their uses, side effects and potential to interact with other medicines." --from the website
Drugs@FDA
Drugs@FDA includes most of the drug products approved since 1939. The majority of patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information are available for drug products approved since 1998.
EthnoMed
EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups. Information is specific to groups in the Seattle area, but much of the cultural and health information is of interest and applicable in other geographic areas.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. This resource has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
Medscape
Medscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals integrated medical information and educational tools.
Merck Manual
The Merck Manual Online is updated periodically with new information, and contains photographs, and audio and video material not present in the print versions.
National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
PDR.net
"The Physicians' Desk Reference® suite of services provides healthcare professionals multichannel access to important drug information." ---from the website
RxList
RxList, owned and operated by WebMD, is an online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs.
Heather Biedermann
- MLIS, MS. College Librarian
- heather.biedermann@southcentral.edu
- 507-389-7223
Meet with a Librarian:
Spring Hours 2024:
North Mankato Campus Library
- Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
- Sat - Sun: Closed
Faribault Campus Library
- Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
- Fri- Sun: Closed
Email: library@southcentral.edu
Phone:
North Mankato: 507-389-7245
Faribault: 507-332-5814
AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Chat Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic
Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.
The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.
Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.
If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.