In the Library

Reference and Facts

Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Data.gov
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.

Official Agency and Organization Web Sites

American Mathematical Society
The AMS, founded in 1888 to further the interests of mathematical research and scholarship, serves the national and international community through its publications, meetings, advocacy and other programs.  
Mathematical Association of America
The Mathematical Association of America is the largest professional society that focuses on mathematics accessible at the undergraduate level.

Key to Icons

= Restricted resource
= Full text
= Images
= Video
= Audio
= Trial
Provided by eLibrary Minnesota = Provided by eLibrary Minnesota
= Reference
= Ebooks

Search Databases for Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.

Websites

Calculus Animations
Calculus Animations,Graphics and Lecture Notes
Math Help
A website that is changing the way America thinks about and learns math. Presented / created by SchoolVids, LLC, MathVids.com combines math education and video file sharing capabilities, bringing a fresh approach to the strategy of teaching to many different types of learners.
WolframAlpha
Wolfram|Alpha introduces a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers— not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.
Wolfram MathWorld
MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.

Streaming Video

Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Feature Films for Education 
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
Video Lectures
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.

Librarians

Nasir Awill

Heather Biedermann

Ask A Librarian

Meet with a Librarian:   

                 

Fall Hours 2021:

  • Mon-Thur: 7:30 am - 6pm 
  • Fri: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun: Closed

Email: library@southcentral.edu

Phone: 507-389-7245

AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic           

Catalog Onesearch

Catalog

Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.

  

 

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.

If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.