BBC Country Profiles
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions."
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Data.gov
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Student Resources in Context
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions."
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Data.gov
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Student Resources in Context
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information.
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
GPO Monthly Catalog
Covers all types of U.S. governments documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issues by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc).
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information.
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
GPO Monthly Catalog
Covers all types of U.S. governments documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issues by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc).
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
= Provided by eLibrary Minnesota
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Interdisciplinary full text of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Expanded Academic ASAP
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides topics, each with an overview (objective background/ description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. It also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
ProQuest Newsstand Complete
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Interdisciplinary full text of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Expanded Academic ASAP
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
Points of View Reference Center
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides topics, each with an overview (objective background/ description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. It also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
ProQuest Newsstand Complete
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).
Data360
Compelling and data-driven stories about subjects of importance
FactCheck.org
FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. It is a nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. It monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
Gift of Speech
Women's Speeches from Around the World
OpenSecrets.org
The Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the organization aims to create a more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more transparent and responsive government.
Political Database of the Americas
Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
PolitiFact.com
PolitiFact is an independent fact-checking journalism website aimed at bringing you the truth in politics. PolitiFact's reporters and editors fact-check statements from the White House, Congress, candidates, advocacy groups and more, rating claims for accuracy on our Truth-O-Meter. Every fact-check includes analysis of the claim, an explanation of our reasoning and a list of links to all our sources.
Compelling and data-driven stories about subjects of importance
FactCheck.org
FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. It is a nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. It monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
Gift of Speech
Women's Speeches from Around the World
OpenSecrets.org
The Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the organization aims to create a more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more transparent and responsive government.
Political Database of the Americas
Through its website, the PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
PolitiFact.com
PolitiFact is an independent fact-checking journalism website aimed at bringing you the truth in politics. PolitiFact's reporters and editors fact-check statements from the White House, Congress, candidates, advocacy groups and more, rating claims for accuracy on our Truth-O-Meter. Every fact-check includes analysis of the claim, an explanation of our reasoning and a list of links to all our sources.
Films on Demand
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Video Lectures
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Video Lectures
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
Heather Biedermann
- MLIS, MS. College Librarian
- heather.biedermann@southcentral.edu
- 507-389-7223
Meet with a Librarian:
Spring Hours 2024:
North Mankato Campus Library
- Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
- Sat - Sun: Closed
Faribault Campus Library
- Mon-Thurs: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
- Fri- Sun: Closed
Email: library@southcentral.edu
Phone:
North Mankato: 507-389-7245
Faribault: 507-332-5814
AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Chat Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic
Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.
The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.
Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.
If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.