In the Library

Reference and Facts

Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
BusinessDictionary.com 
BusinessDictionary.com features over 20,000 terms and over 115,000 links between related terms providing a clear and concise description of any and all business terms.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.
U.S. Department of Commerce
Compiles statistical data on U.S. commerce.

Websites

Ad*Access
The Duke University Libraries' digital collection of advertising images and database information between the years 1911 and 1955.
Advertising Age
Advertising Ages is a leading trade publication and an excellent source of up-to-date news for the marketing and advertising industries. The website offers free and subscription content.
Data360
Compelling and data-driven stories about subjects of importance
Marketing Charts
Contains free, downloadable marketing charts and spreadsheets which contain statistics on the top ten within specific topic categories.
Market Watch
Financial News and Information website.

Key to Icons

= Restricted resource
= Full text
= Images
= Video
= Audio
= Trial
Provided by eLibrary Minnesota = Provided by eLibrary Minnesota
= Reference
= Ebooks

Search Databases for Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary database that includes titles in fields such as: arts & literature, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, ethnic studies, language & linguistics, medical sciences, and physics.
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business research database with full text and peer-reviewed titles on all aspects of business.
Business Source Premier: Business Search Interface Restricted Resource Some full text available
Database of economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research.
Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Regional Business database with full text coverage of journals, newspapers and newswires.
Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available
A database for arts, humanities, social science, science and technology research, it includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspapers.
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides topics, each with an overview (objective background/ description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. It also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
ProQuest Newsstand Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times (1999 to present), The Times of London (index and abstract only), the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present), and the StarTribune of Minneapolis (1986 to present).

Streaming Video

Films on Demand 
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Video Lectures 
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.

Librarians

Nasir Awill

Heather Biedermann

Ask A Librarian

Meet with a Librarian:   

                 

Fall Hours 2021:

  • Mon-Thur: 7:30 am - 6pm 
  • Fri: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun: Closed

Email: library@southcentral.edu

Phone: 507-389-7245

AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic           

Catalog Onesearch

Catalog

Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.

  

 

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.

If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.