In the Library

SCC Streaming Video Databases

Films on DemandRestricted Resource Some full text available
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Feature Films for Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Feature Films for Education Collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. The Collection focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. NOTE: This Collection is limited to classroom use and personal use. This Collection cannot be used for Campus Screening (Not for Public Events) NOTE: If you have issues playing a film, clean all your browse history, cache, and cookies.
Nursing Education in VideoRestricted Resource Some full text available
Nursing Education in Video is an online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.

Swank Videos for Classroom Use

Title                                     Release Year      

10 Things I Hate About You                         1999               
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/99E8FF8B20A95C5D?referrer=direct


12 Angry Men                         1957               
Direct Watch Link:
 https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/10B9E475475EBED6?referrer=details


28 Days                                  2000                  
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/63D1F4B945FBFF5A?referrer=details


A Beautiful Mind                     2001                   
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/A9F0ED9D9B4FA9DD?referrer=details


As Good as It Gets                1997                    
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/091E05B05AF1BFD7?referrer=details


Bless Me Ultima                     2013                   
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/20CAC6ADCAFEDF9A?referrer=details


Born on the Fourth of July     1989                   
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/975FFEA839FD6079?referrer=details


Do the Right Thing               1989                     
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/3831E212C82B1647?referrer=details


Fargo                                    1996                    
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/6EEF79661D6A9406?referrer=details


Girl Interrupted                     1999                    
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/6543C80D601B7C61?referrer=details


Milk                                       2008                    
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/BE80B53696190177?referrer=details


Mississippi Burning                                      1988                    
Direct Watch Link:
https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/scc336908/watch/D1B54E4B1A8EDA40?referrer=direct

Copyright Infographic


Use the following Copyright Flowchart/Infographic by Silvia Rosenthal Tolisano to see if your use falls within any established mechanisms for copyright compliance (click to view full chart).

Copyright Infographic

Copyright Guidelines

These are the official guidelines for Minnesota State employees.  Copyright Guidelines    
For copyright clearance permission to use an article or book chapter in D2L or in class, please see the South Central College bookstore.  They have the Copyright Clearance account on campus.
For additional information regarding copyright for specific materials, please see the MnState IP/Copyright Tools and Forms page.

OER and Free Video Resources

Art History Teaching Resources
"A peer-populated platform for art history teachers" with museum resources such as "lesson plans, video introductions to museums, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities."
FedFix 
The best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine films are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.
Flickr
"is known for hosting millions of images, but it also hosts lots of videos. The advanced search tools within Flickr make it easy to find videos that have Creative Commons licenses or have a public domain designation. With just one click those videos can be downloaded to your computer."
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Provides access to digitized videos and clips, including cartoons, commercials and classic films, many public domain or available via Creative Commons license.
Khan Academy
Provides access to educational videos on a variety of academic subjects.
Latest Thinking (open access research videos)
Researchers present short overviews of their recent academic publications.
Life of Vids
Free videos, clips and loops, no copyright restrictions.
National Screening Room
"The National Screening Room currently offers about 300 videos. The videos are digital copies of films made in the 19th and 20th centuries. You can browse the collection by date, location of the filming, and subject. You can also search for videos that are parts of other LOC collections. "
OER Curated VideosThis collection will house videos that can be used in a flipped, blended or totally online classroom. These may be videos that Iowa teachers have found through their classroom work or videos they have developed and used in their classroom.
The Open Video Project
The Open Video Project is sponsored by and developed at the Interaction Design Laboratory at the School of Information and Library Science, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill.
Public Domain Review
"The Public Domain Review is a website that features collections of images, books, essays, audio recordings, and films that are in the public domain. Choose any of the collections to search for materials according to date, style, genre, and rights. Directions for downloading and saving media is included along with each collection of media. "
Pixabay
Free photos, illustrations, vector graphics, and videos.
The Public Domain Project
"Download thousands of historic media files for your creative projects. Completely free & made available by Pond5."
ScienceCinema
Contains multimedia videos highlighting the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research. State-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology allows the user to search for specific words and phrases spoken by the presenter in these video files. Simply enter a term and the results list will point to the precise snippets of the video where the term was spoken.
Stockio
"Stockio, like Pixabay, offers a mix of public domain pictures and videos to download for free. To download a video from Stockio simply click the “download” button that appears to the right of all videos. Registration is not required in order to download videos from Stockio. "
TeacherTube
This YouTube for teachers is an amazing resource for finding educationally-focused videos to share with your classroom. You can find videos uploaded by other teachers or share your own.
TED Talks
Thousands of free video presentations on a variety of topics.
Video Lectures  
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.
Videvo
"Videvo offers free stock videos and motion graphics for use in any project. You may use these video clips free of charge, in both personal and commercial productions. Video clips that carry the Creative Commons 3.0 license must be attributed to the original author."
Wikimedia Commons
Free and open-licensed images, sounds, and videos.
YouTube
It offers the option to browse Creative Commons-licensed content or filter your search results to only include Creative Commons-licensed videos. Below are some highly recommended educational Youtube channels:

LinkedIn Learning at SCC

LinkedIn Learning - YouTube
LinkedIn Learning: Whether for personal or professional development, integration into your courses, or just for fun, the 17,000+ LinkedIn Learning courses offer something for everyone. The videos and courses can be integrated into D2L. See CTLE for help with this great resource.
  • Click here for your SCC invitation link: https://lnkd.in/gwWJDDfZ.
  • Follow the prompts to log in with your StarID and create your LinkedIn Learning account.
  • Once you’ve created your account, just visit www.linkedin.com/learning from anywhere with internet access.
  • LinkedIn Learning apps are available for iOS and Android devices in their respective app stores.

Librarians

Nasir Awill

Heather Biedermann

Ask A Librarian

Meet with a Librarian:   

                 

Fall and Spring Hours 2022:

  • Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun: Closed

Email: library@southcentral.edu

Phone: 
North Mankato: 507-389-7245
Faribault: 507-332-5814

AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic           

SCC Library Catalog Search




More Options





Catalog Onesearch

Catalog

Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.

If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.

Reference and Facts

Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
LearningExpress Library - CollegeRestricted ResourceSome full text available
Tutorials, practice tests, and information to help develop academic and career-related skills.
Student Resources in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available
A resource that offers easy access to a selection of reference, periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia.