In the Library

Reference and Facts

Britannica Online Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Has content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a general reference resource. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from many publishers of reference.
A.D.A.M Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Health Finder
An encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics from the most trusted sources.
National Library of Medicine
National Library of Medicine serves as a national information resource for the public, patients, and families by providing electronic access to reliable health information issued by the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources.

Government Information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Health Finder
An encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics from the most trusted sources.
Minnesota Department of Health
My Health Minnesota
A database of health services throughout Minnesota, sponsored by the University of Minnesota Health Sciences Libraries and the Mayo Clinic Libraries in collaboration with the National Library of Medicine.
National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
National Institute of Mental Health
The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.
National Museum of Health and Medicine
The National Museum of Health and Medicine of the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology inspires interest in and promotes the understanding of medicine -- past, present, and future -- with a special emphasis on tri-service American military medicine.
Nutrition.Gov
Providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted ResourceSome full text available
This is a collection of arts, humanities, sciences, and technical education videos and video clips.
Nursing Education in VideoRestricted Resource Some full text available
Nursing Education in Video is an online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
Video Lectures
VideoLectures.NET is a free and open access educational video lectures repository. The lectures are given by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of Science.

Search Databases for Nursing Articles

ALT HealthWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Database with full text, providing authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Health Source: Nursing /Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
MEDLINE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including scholarly research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

Evidence Based Nursing Resources

NGC-National Guideline Clearinghouse
​NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
Nursing & Allied Health Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Formerly Nursing & Allied Health Source, this resource provides citations, abstracts and select full-text articles about all aspects of nursing and allied health. A great source for evidence-based research articles. Also has thousands of Medcom/Trainex videos to embed in presentations and lessons.

Web Resources

EthnoMed
EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups. Information is specific to groups in the Seattle area, but much of the cultural and health information is of interest and applicable in other geographic areas.
Harvard World Health News
World Health News offers a digest of news stories and commentaries from newspapers and magazines worldwide on pressing issues in public health.
Human Anatomy Online
An inner exploration of Human Anatomy. Each topic has animations, 100’s of graphics, and thousands of descriptive links.
Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
​Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy.
Mayo Clinic
The official website of the Mayo Clinic.
MedEd Portal
MedEdPORTAL is a free peer-reviewed publication service and repository for medical and oral health teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty development resources.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. This resource has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.
National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health
The Center collaborates with a broad range of federal agencies, corporate and philanthropic partners, professional organizations, and academic institutions to provide resources geared to a broad audiences.
Psych Central
Independent mental health social network created and run by mental health professionals to guarantee reliable, trusted information and support communities.
World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. This website provides links to reports on global public health issues and key statistics, information on health topics, country profiles, and access to various fact sheets and publications.      
  

Librarians

Nasir Awill

Heather Biedermann

Ask A Librarian

Meet with a Librarian:   

                 

Fall Hours 2021:

  • Mon-Thur: 7:30 am - 4pm 
  • Fri: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
  • Sat - Sun: Closed

Email: library@southcentral.edu

Phone: 507-389-7245

AskMN - 24/7 Librarian Assistance: https://www.askmn.org/academic           

Catalog Onesearch

Catalog

Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos.

  

 

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

Please ask a librarian if you need help locating anything you find in our catalog.

If we don't have the book, video, or article you're looking for, you can request it via interlibrary loan (ILL) and it will come to you. E-mail library@southcentral.edu to let us know what you need and we can do our best to help you find it.

Nursing OERs

Welcome to Nursing OER

Welcome to the Nursing Open Educational Resources. OER's are teaching, learning, and research resources that are in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free-use and re-purposing by others. 

OER Nursing Videos

OER Nursing Journals

Nursing & Healthcare Journals
This free database of OER Nursing and Healthcare journals covers a wide range of topics in relation to various aspects of patient care. 

OER Nursing Textbooks

The Praxis of Critical Thinking in Nursing by Nancyruth Leibold This OER Nursing Textbook focuses on the use of critical thinking in nursing practice. Each chapter includes images, critical thinking exercises, discussions, and activities.
Publication Date: 04/01/2019
Nursing 322 PHARMACOLOGY by MK Swain Subject: Applied Science Level: College / Upper Division Material Type: Textbook Date Added: 01/10/2017
License: GNU Free Documentation License Language: English Media Format: eBook. Publication Date: September 30, 2011
Cases Spanning the Globe by Drue H. Barrett; Leonard W. Ortmann (Editor); Angus Dawson (Editor); Carla Saenz (Editor); Andreas Reis (Editor); Gail Bolan (Editor) This Open Access book highlights the ethical issues and dilemmas that arise in the practice of public health. Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care by Glynda Rees Doyle This open educational resource (OER) was developed to ensure best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence, and to address inconsistencies in how clinical health care skills are taught and practiced in the clinical setting. Publication Date: November 24, 2015
Health Case Studies by Glynda Rees The book covers eight case studies of common inpatient or emergency department scenarios.
Publication Date: 2017
Innovative Lesson Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice by Susan M. Strouse PhD, RN, Grand Valley State University Innovative Lessons Plans for Active Learning: Teaching Research and Evidence-Based Practice is a resource in research and evidence-based practice for active learning in the undergraduate nursing classroom
Publication Date: 2018

Librarians

Settings

Hide Titlebar
Hide Box Content
Favorite Box

Styles

Librarians

Nasir Awill

Heather Biedermann

Ask A Librarian

NCLEX Resources

Study for NCLEX

Learning Express - PrepStep Nursing Exams Prep
Interactive online practice tests and tutorial course series targeting both academic and licensure test preparation, including NCLEX-RN practice tests. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. You must sign in before taking a test (free to SCC students).
Lab Tests Online
NCLEX info from NCSBN

Librarians

Settings

Hide Titlebar
Hide Box Content
Favorite Box

Styles

Librarians

Nasir Awill

Heather Biedermann

Ask A Librarian