About this Resource Guide
This guide will help you find resources for your law enforcement classes. The guide is organized into the following sections:
- Find articles in recommended scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular periodicals.
Books & Videos
- Find physical and electronic books.
- Find streaming video databases.
Cite Your Sources
- Find links to help you cite your sources.
Contact the Library
Ruth A. Myers Library
Points of View (EBSCO) A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of brief essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Search the Library Databases
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune and the Minneapolis Star Tribune.
Electronic Scholarly Journals & Periodicals
Corrections Today: Articles on all areas of corrections, news and legislation, commentary, profiles, book reviews and research perspectives published for members of the American Correctional Association.
Criminal Justice Ethics: Articles focusing on ethical issues in criminal justice by philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges and the general public on topics relating to the police, courts, corrections and issues in legal philosophy.
Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology: Original articles, research articles, practitioner essays, comment and reviews on all aspects of criminal law and criminology.
Police Practice & Research: Presents current & innovative police research as well as operational & administrative practices from around the world.
Online News Subscriptions
See instructions below for creating your free account or use the following student guides:
New York Times Student Guide
Wall Street Journal Student Guide
Wall Street Journal
All current students, staff and faculty can register for a free digital campus subscription to the Wall Street Journal.
Create your free WSJ campus subscription:
- Go to the WSJ registration page: https://www.wsj.com/FDLTCC
- Choose your account type from the drop-down menu (Student, Staff, or Professor)
- Enter your first and last name and your FDLTCC email address (@s.fdltcc.edu).
- For students, enter your graduation date
- Create a password of your choice
- Click the blue CREATE button
After you register, immediately login to the Wall Street Journal at https://www.wsj.com/ to verify your email address (it may take a few minutes to receive the verification email).
Once you verify your email address you will have full access to the WSJ.com website and you can download the WSJ mobile app.
Student accounts remain active until graduation.
Faculty and staff will need to validate their subscriptions once per year.
New York Times
All current students, staff and faculty can register for a free digital campus subscription to the New York Times.
Create your free NYT campus subscription:
***If you have previously created a personal nytimes.com account, we recommend logging out of your account on the NYT webpage or clearing your browser's cache/cookies before activating your campus subscription.
- Go to the NYT registration page: http://fdlproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir (if creating your account off campus, you will be prompted to sign in through the ezproxy using your Star ID and password).
- Click the blue Create Your Account button, enter your campus email address, then click Continue
- Enter a password of your choice, then click Create My Account.
- You should get a confirmation page with a blue Go to NY Times button. Click the button to access the NYT site. (If the button does not reroute you to the full site, go to nytimes.com and click the login link on the upper right hand side of the page.
Books and Videos
Search the Library Catalog
Need a source not in the FDLTCC collection? place a resource sharing request
The Handbook of Research on Trends and Issues in Crime Prevention, Rehabilitation, and Victim Support. A scholarly publication that examines existing knowledge on crime dynamics and the implementation of crime victims' rights.
Police Science: Breakthroughs in Research and Practice. Reference source for the latest scholarly material on social problems involving victimization of minorities and police accountability. Emphasizes key elements of police psychology as it relates to current issues and challenges in law enforcement and police agencies.
Police Use of Force: Important Issues Facing the Police and the Communities They Serve. Presents critical and timely issues facing police and the communities they serve when police encounters turn violent. offers in-depth coverage of the use of force, deadly force, non-lethal weapons, militarization of policing, racism and profiling, legal cases, psychology, perception and training, and violence prevention.
The Prevention of Crime. Provides a unique and comprehensive overview of effective crime prevention programs, strategies and policies, demonstrating how criminological theories, research, and practice are interrelated.
Wiley Handbooks in Criminology and Criminal Justice: The Handbook of Social Control. Offers a comprehensive review of the concepts of social control in today's environment and focuses on the most relevant theories associated with social control.
Streaming Video Databases
Kanopy An on-demand streaming video service providing access to feature length films, documentaries and education videos across a wide range of subjects.
Recent Physical Books
Narrative Criminology: Understanding Stories of Crime
Community Conscious Policing: A Guide for People's Justice and Law Enforcement Solutions
Tangled Up in Blue: Policing the American City
Predict and Surveil: Data, Discretion, and the Future of Policing
Emotional Survival for Law Enforcement: A Guide for Officers and Their Families Revised Edition 2021
The Personal Side of Policing: An in-depth look at how a career in law enforcement can change and affect your life.
Criminal Justice: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions)
Cite Your Sources
Library Databases Citation Tool
After finding an article, look for a "Cite" icon. Choose the whichever you are using (APA, MLA, etc.), then, copy and past the citation into your document. Always double check the format in case there are errors.
MLA and APA Style Guides
Citing Websites and Online Sources
- Citation Generators. These sites will help you create reference list or works cited entries for your essays. Be sure to choose the correct citation style when you use them.