Research Guides

DIET 1110 Life Cycle Nutrition (Mutiga)

Find Articles by Journal Title
Journal Title Search

If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.

 

Two journals you will need to use in this class
  • Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
    Here you can find full text articles from the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, ranging from the start of the Journal in 2012 to the present. Prior to 2012, this publication was known as the Journal of the American Dietetic Association, but you can search for articles from both journal names here.
  • Journal of the American Dietetic Association
    Here you can find full-text articles from the Journal of the American Dietetic Association from 1995 to 2011, when the name was then changed to the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
Find Articles by Subject
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Search 3,000+ journals in nursing and allied health back to 1937 covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, and consumer health. CINAHL includes health care books, dissertations, standards of practice, and evidence-based care sheets.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Full text articles from over 900 nursing and allied health publications.

ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection
The Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.

Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Search for articles on medicine, nursing and allied health.
Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.

Find Web Resources
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (EatRight.org)
Eat Right, the website for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, has many resources for consumers on nutrition-related topics and conditions.

Food Allergy Research and Education (FARE)
FARE is the result of a merger between the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network and the Food Allergy Initiative. The website has many educational articles for consumers managing food allergies.
Search by Subject Headings
Supercharge your searching by using medical subject headings to find relevant articles.

Ask a Librarian
Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of LaceyLacey Mamak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Identify Types of Sources
Understanding Scholarly Sources
When conducting research, it is important to distinguish between different types of articles. This guide explains the differences between scholarly, popular, and trade publications using examples from the food/nutrition world!
Cite your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

Powered by SubjectsPlus