Research Guide for

Sociology (Petrich)

Find Articles
Finding articles by journal title:
Journal Title Search

If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.

 

Finding articles in a database:
JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.


ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.
Learn More About Research
The following videos will help you understand research publications.

To learn about the difference between magazines and scholarly publications, watch this video from Northeastern Illinois Univerity.




To learn about the Elements of Research Article, watch this video from the University of Texas at San Antonio.

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

Lacey Mamak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
 

Access Databases from Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources
ASA Quick Guide
A guide to citations in ASA style, based on the American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide, 5th edition. 

ASA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
"This resource covers American Sociological Association (ASA) style and includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, formatting the references page, and accepted manuscript writing style."