Patient Safety Network
- Patient Safety Network: You may search this resource for a case of interest for this assignment.
Find Journal Articles
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Peer-reviewed research articles from health care journals, nursing Continuing Education (CE) modules, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, and some health care ebooks. The primary database for nursing research.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest)
Articles from academic and trade publications in nursing and allied health professions. Includes a video library of clinical trainings in nursing..
PubMed contains citations to articles in MEDLINE and other sources. Selected full text articles available. Click the Find Full Text button with the Normandale logo to see if the full text of the article is available in another database.
Journal articles in the health and life sciences.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Search for articles on medicine, nursing and allied health.
Refine Your Search
limit to full text
While there is no specific time limitation or location restriction for the articles, students should ensure the article is relevant to current practice in the U.S.
choose the language of publication (not all articles are published in English)
You do not have to select "full text." This ensures that the title you're looking for is available through the database but sometimes it means you miss out on valuable information. If you choose not to select full text you can still access many of the articles that are not available through the database through Interlibrary Loan. Try "check for full text" first. Often the article you're looking for is available through another database and our system will take you to it. If that doesn't work you can request through ILL. Look for "Interlibrary Loan Request," "Get article from another library," or a similar link. You'll be required to enter your StarID and password to submit the form and you can check the status of any ILL requests in your library account.
This video for using advanced search in CINAHL Plus will be helpful: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/CINAHL-Databases-Advanced-Searching-Tutorial?language=en_US
Search for academic articles on publisher and other websites. When you use this link to connect to Google Scholar through the Library, your search results will include links to articles available in Normandale Library databases whenever possible. Look for the "Article @ Normandale Lib." links to access the full article through the Library.
Note: Not all articles in your search results will be available through the Library. Need an article we don’t have? Submit an interlibrary loan request.
Browse Articles by Journal Title
If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.
Journal of Community Nursing
**Hint: Select "Title contains all words" and search Nursing to find all journals that contain the word Nursing in the title.**
The Normandale library subscribes to the following nursing journals in print:
American Journal of Nursing
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Ask a Librarian
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
Reference and Instruction Librarian
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Identify Types of Sources
When conducting research, it is important to distinguish between different types of articles. This guide explains the differences between scholarly, popular, and trade publications using examples from the food/nutrition world!
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
Blank Request Form (StarID login)
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide (PDF)
Keyboard shortcuts for creating a hanging indent in Microsoft Word
How to format your headings to different styles
Youtube video explaining how to properly space a Word document in APA format.
YouTube video explaining how to add page numbers in a Word document (No running head necessary).
Don't forget that our catalog and scholarly databases provide citations for you! Look for "citation" or "cite this" when you're looking at the record for an article or book. Choose APA and be sure to double check the formatting--they're not always 100% accurate and it's a silly place to lose points.